"dark" and "wildflowers"

After almost a week of no art (I’ve slept away from home more often than not in the last few days!), today I pulled out TWO pages in my journal!

I was very suddenly inspired by the Florence + the Machine song “Cosmic Love”  and set to work before the song had even finished.  The word for this page is “dark”, and oh god it just fits so well.  Initially, I had the idea in the back of my mind to make this prompt fear based (I am 19 and still terrified of the dark!), but then I just couldn’t resist the lyrics in the song:

A falling star fell from you heart
and landed in my eyes
I screamed aloud as it tore through them
and now it’s left me blind.

The stars, the moon
They have all been blown out
You’ve left me in the dark

No dawn, no day
I’m always in this twilight
In the shadow of your heart

The page is a bit plain, but then it’s more visual poetry than anything.  Still, I love the final piece overall.  It was a bit tedious towards the end (read: cutting out, arranging, rearranging, pasting down every word individually), in fact I was sorely tempted to put it off “for later”.  I turned on the song again, though, and ploughed through ’til it was finished!

“Wildflowers” was a bit more loose and fast, and a lot more fun.  In fact, I think it’s one of my favourite pages so far.  I went through an old magazine and cut out rectangles of colours and textures that made me think of flowers, then pasted them down in a mosaic.  The page is bright, colourful, cheerful, and quite flashy.  I need to do more pages like this!

Leave a Reply

