"keeping secrets"

Today has been a pretty shit day.  And I mean shit – shit shit.

On the plus side, I did something I’ve probably never done before – despite being very upset, I started a page in my Challenge Journal to channel all the emotion.

I almost never make art unless I’m in the mood for it or I’m required to (school usually).  I was really not in the mood to start a page, but I looked through my list anyway to see if anything would somehow magically inspire and motivate me.  I’m really glad I did, because my need to create exploded when I saw the phrase “keeping secrets”.

This page was probably the easiest I’ve done so far, but also the most therapeutic.  In the envelope are a few pages of secrets I’ve been keeping recently.  Some of them have really been bothering me, and I was a bit emotional writing it.  Still, it felt good when I ran out of things to say.  The quote is by Charlotte Brontë:

The human heart has hidden treasures
In secret kept, in silence sealed;
The thoughts, the hopes, the dreams, the pleasures,
Whose charms were broken if revealed.

To be perfectly honest, this is probably my favourite page, and will remain that way.  Sealing the envelope (probably the most satisfying part of this whole shebang) sealed away so many emotions and worries.

All in all, doing this page has relieved me of quite a lot of tension, and today ended considerably better emotionally than it began.

PS: the bird cut outs are referring to the saying “a little bird told me…”

Leave a Reply

