Flickr Contacts

Let me just say that I love Flickr.  I love the community.  Everyone’s so friendly!  It’s like a  big ol’ group hug.  I also love the abundance of artists.  In fact, in the last 3 days, I’ve started following the work of quite a few people.  I added 12 new Contacts over the last 3 days!  21 total in the last week.  I think I have a little addiction.  Is that a bad thing?  😛

When I first started on Flickr a little over a month ago, I nosed around on some profiles and noticed that a lot of people seem to have a few hundred contacts.  I was kind of skeptical, how could anyone possibly keep up with the art of 500+ people and still have a life?!  But now, I totally get it.  Not everyone does art every day, and even the people that do don’t upload something new every day.  I’m actually finding that the stream of photos from Contact list of 44 people moves much too slowly, hah!

So the last couple of days I’ve been adding with abandon every Flickr user whose art inspires me.  As I’m not one to keep all the goods to myself, here’s a list of some of the most recent artists I’ve found that are most inspiring to me (in no particular order except maybe reverse chronological).  Enjoy!  All links open in a new tab.

On a totally different note, I’ve just found myself an abundance of inspiration from a very different source – a basic circular hole punch I forgot I even owned!  I was trying to think of some way to make perfect circles of colour for a journal page, when I came across this piece of art on Flickr.  Those holes were clearly punched by hand.  Hole punches make perfect circles.  I just uncovered a hole punch the other day in all the art mess (which I’m trying to clean, and getting nowhere with).  DING DING DING!

And now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to create art!

Leave a Reply

