Blank Slate

I started a cute little project the other day on a piece of hardboard, but the more I worked on it the more disastrous it seemed.  I’d hardly started it, but I just knew it wasn’t going to work out so I scrapped it – or more accurately I scraped it.  I really just meant to take off the ink (which, after almost a week, hadn’t dried over the acrylic paint!) and start that bit over, but then the acrylic paint itself started coming off, and then the paper beneath came off!  I was kind of annoyed at first, but then it became quite a cathartic exercise.

Normally, I’m not one to give up on art projects, but I do feel better now that I’ve stripped the hardboard panel down to its blank self.  The project was annoying me, but now it’s a beautiful brown piece of hardboard with some newspaper scraps left over.  It actually creates quite a pretty texture because the scraps are so thin.  In some spots the text actually printed off the paper onto the hardboard!  Of course, it’s black text on a dark brown panel…you kinda have to know it’s there to see it lol.  I know exactly what I’ll do with the panel though, after I’ve let it dry for a day or two.

That said, I’m not giving up on the original project.  I’ll just brainstorm a few ideas on how to execute it and start over after this piece is done.  Time to get to it!

Leave a Reply

