My adventures with Golden Light Molding Paste – Round One

Playing with my new Golden Light Molding Paste (modelling paste)!

It’s worked beautifully so far in the test spot, now I just have to wait for it to dry to see what happens. It’s a Light paste so it should retain all the texture it’s got now it’s wet, but I’ve never used it before so it’ll be a surprise to me whatever happens.

It was fairly easy stuff to work with after mixing it with my paint, which I did right on the board with a palette knife. Threw down some paint, grabbed some of the paste right out of the bottle and smashed it around. I smoothed out a fairly thick application of the mixture, then used the top of my palette knife to carve and push some of it into the long ridges. What I scraped off built up on the back of my palette knife on the first stroke or two, but then this was pulled of fairly evenly by the mix still on the board. It only glooped up (technical term) in a few spots, but I mostly fixed that. Once it’s dried and cured I’ll be able to sand or carve those bits off to my liking anyway, not that I’ll do much of that. It’s too gorgeous as-is!

Leave a Reply

